Graduate Council

The UNC Asheville Graduate Council is responsible for advising and assisting the MLAS Program Director in the overall administration and functioning of the Master of Liberal Arts and Sciences Program. These responsibilities include advising and assisting the Director in overall planning for the academic curriculum of the program including: course development, faculty recruitment, and revision and development of program design. Council members will also assist the Director in interviewing and making admissions decisions on all program applicants. The council will advise and assist the Director in administrating the program and maintaining its academic excellence. Faculty terms will be for three years, with one faculty member rotating off each year. The faculty members will be elected by the Senate, and one will serve as Chair of the Graduate Council.

Graduate Council

Erica Abrams-Locklear (English faculty)

Randy Booker (Physics faculty)

Tommy Hays (MLAS faculty)

Kate Zubko (Humanities faculty)

Michael Neelon (Graduate Council chair; Psychology faculty)

Gerard Voos (Director)